Impending Storm, Tudeley, Kent, UK – Photo

Whilst out on Friday 31st October 2008, coming home from taking photos at a golf club to earn my keep, the sky suddenly became darker as the sun was setting.

Leaving Tonbridge and travelling towards Five Oak Green I spotted this fantastic cloud formation passing through Tudeley. I shot down a little lane and parked up at an entrance to a field. I grabbed my camera from the car and set the tripod up. Taking a reading from the sky I manually entered the aperture and shutter speed and after focusing on the clouds set the autofocus to manual. I fired off 7 shots vertically panning round and making sure of a 50% overlap between each photo.

Back home I loaded the 7 photos into Microsoft’s ICE. A free, easy to use and a fantastic panorama stitcher. The resulting image was cropped and levels and curves adjusted in Photoshop.


Incoming Storm, Tudeley, Kent, UK

Nikon D40 : 18mm
7 photo panorama stitch
Spans 125° horizontally : 58° vertically
f/11 : 1/30 sec : ISO 200


Subscribe to my RSS Feed


Add my post to social networking sites:-
Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

~ by Mike on November 12, 2008.

One Response to “Impending Storm, Tudeley, Kent, UK – Photo”

  1. Cazare Retezat

    Generally I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced
    me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed
    me. Thank you, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

 
